France Insider/Paul Ben-Itzak

June 18, 2008

Striking Journalists, Ignorant Journalists, and Three Famous Belgians

Filed under: Uncategorized — franceblogger @ 10:20 am

Well I guess it was inevitable. Following in the footsteps of the weather and the train-workers, France Culture, on which I rely for my morning radio program and jolt, went on strike today. (When the radio goes on strike, the air doesn’t go silent, it’s just filled with randomly selected pop tunes.) So I was forced to resort to the BBC World Today, the worse of that channel’s news programs because its hosts are the least-well informed and typically parrot establishment assumptions. Today I didn’t last one sentence, as the host began an item with (I paraphrase), “As the old joke goes, there are no famous Belgians….” Quoi? Without even putting on my thinking cap I came up right away with Jacques Brel, Hergé, and Georges Simenon, all widely read or listened to on an international level for more than half a century.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

